skip navigation

2021 CO Hockey Cup: 10U AA Division ends in double-overtime thriller in opening weekend of CAHA State Championship Series

By Trevor Squire, SportsEngine, 03/23/21, 8:45PM MDT


Hub exclusive: Sixteen division champions were crowned in last weekend's tournament — which featured 126 teams playing at some of the state's premier rinks.

After months of fierce competition to prepare for the postseason, 16 youth hockey teams were crowned champions at the CO Hockey Cup on March 18-21.

The event, which is part of the Colorado Amateur Hockey Association's State Championship Series, brought together 126 teams for games at the state's premiere arenas.

We highlighted one of the most contentious title games from the event and also feature team photos of each division champion.

Click here to view stats from the event.

Spotlight: 10U AA

10U AA Champions: Foothills Hockey Association

The Foothills Hockey Association went undefeated through the 10U AA division, however, the Flyers had to fend off a Colorado Springs team that refused to be put away.

After a single-goal victory over Colorado Springs in the pool round, Foothills Hockey Association needed double overtime to secure the division championship.

Patrick Vuong scored the overtime game-winner to seal a 2-1 victory for the Flyers. He was assisted by Brendan Grimshaw, who scored Foothills Hockey Association's only other goal in the game. 

Grimshaw led the tournament field with four goals and five assists for nine points total. 

Flyers goaltender Dax Schleen stopped 18 of 19 shots faced, while Tigers goaltender John Venezia made 15 saves through double overtime.

10U Open Nordiques Division Champions: Arvada Gold

10U Open Avalanche Division champions: Arapahoe Maize

10U B Avalanche Champions: Cheyenne Capitals

10U A Nordiques Champions: Krivo School of Hockey Elite

10U A Avalanche Champions: Glenwood Springs

12U Open Champions: Colorado Select Girls Hockey Association

12U B Nordiques Champions: Steamboat Springs

12U B Avalanche Champions: Cheyenne Capitals

12U A Nordiques Champions: Northern Colorado Youth Hockey

12U A Avalanche Champions: Boulder Hockey Club

12U AA Champions: Colorado Rampage

14U Open Champions: Arvada Hockey Association

14U B Champions: Arapahoe Warriors

14U A Nordiques Champions: Hockey Club Lafayette

14U A Avalanche Champions: Foothills Hockey Association

18U Open Champions: Hyland Hills

Sign up

Members get access to exclusive content, including the stories below.

Members only

Get social

Follow Us